ASU's Tamara Slijepcevic picked to All-Sun Belt Tennis Team

NEW ORLEANS ( – The Sun Belt Conference recognized its Player of the Year and Coach of the Year individual recipients and announced the Tennis Singles and Doubles All-Conference honorees at the 2014 Tennis Championship Banquet on Thursday night. South Alabama senior Daniel Leitner and Georgia State senior Abigail Tere-Apisah took home the top honors as the Men's and Women's Player of Year honorees.

Guiding their programs to top seeds in the tournaments, UL Lafayette men's tennis head coach Mark Jeffrey and Georgia State women's tennis head coach Robin Stephenson earned Coach of the Year honors. The Ragin' Cajuns finished the year ranked No. 64 in the ITA Men's National Rankings after going 18-4 this season. The Georgia State women's team finished the year ranked No. 65 after achieving a high ranking of No. 48 on the year.

Leitner went 15-6 in singles matches this spring playing all of his matches at the No. 1 singles position. Leitner, a senior, maintained a 12-4 doubles record playing with seven different doubles partners this season. The native of Niederfischbach, Germany was recognized once this season as the Sun Belt Men's Tennis Athlete of the Week on Feb. 5. He began the year ranked No. 117 in the ITA National Singles Rankings and started the dual-match season undefeated in singles play.

Tere-Apisah, a native of Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea, finished the season with a national singles ranking of No. 20. The senior owns eight wins over nationally-ranked singles opponents this season and went 15-2 overall in singles play at the No. 1 spot in the Georgia State lineup. Tere-Apisah earned Sun Belt Women's Tennis Athlete of the Week honors four times this season, the most of any student-athlete on the men's or women's side. In doubles, Tere-Apisah teams with junior Masa Grgan to form the No. 20-ranked doubles tandem in the nation. The duo has defeated five nationally-ranked doubles teams this season and owns a 14-2 overall record during dual-match play.

The 2014 Sun Belt Conference Tennis Championships began Thursday morning with No. 8 seed UL Lafayette earning a 4-0 victory against No. 9 seed Western Kentucky in the women's first round. The women's championship match will take place on Sunday, April 20 at 10 a.m. with the men's championship match to follow at 2 p.m. All matches will take place on the main courts at the City Park/Pepsi Tennis Center in New Orleans.

A full day of matches is scheduled for Friday with women's quarterfinal round matches slated for 8 a.m. and 11:30 a.m. and men's quarterfinal round matches beginning at 3 p.m. Women's semifinal matches start at 10 a.m. on Saturday and men's semifinal matches follow at 3 p.m.

For more information on the 2014 Sun Belt Conference Tennis Championships, visit the championship central page on Live scoring will be available for all matches of the tournaments. Admission is free for all matches at the City Park Tennis Center.

Player of the Year
Daniel Leitner (South Alabama)

Coach of the Year
Mark Jeffrey (UL Lafayette)

Sun Belt All-Conference Singles First Team
Jannis Koeke (Georgia State)
Rick De Groot (UL Lafayette)
Daniel Leitner (South Alabama)
Tuki Jacobs (South Alabama)
Carlos Arbiza (UT Arlington)
Gabriel Sciacca Dias (Troy)

Sun Belt All-Conference Doubles First Team
Robert Schulze/Sofiane Chevallier (Georgia State)
Rick De Groot/Jake Wynan (UL Lafayette)
Carlos Arbiza/Javier Perez (UT Arlington)

Sun Belt All-Conference Singles Second Team
Hunter Johnson (UL Lafayette)
Edgar Lopez (UL Lafayette)
Jake Wynan (UL Lafayette)
Shayann Vaezzadeh (South Alabama)
Daniel Armengol (UT Arlington)
Daniel Bustamante (Troy)

Sun Belt All-Conference Doubles Second Team
Damian Farinola/Edgar Lopez (UL Lafayette)
Manuel Belda/Gerhard Gruindelingh (South Alabama)
Austin Robles/Daniel Armengol (UT Arlington)

Player of the Year
Abigail Tere-Apisah (Georgia State)

Coach of the Year
Robin Stephenson (Georgia State)

Sun Belt All-Conference Singles First Team
Abigail Tere-Apisah (Georgia State)
Medy Blankvoort (UL Monroe)
Laura Valkova (South Alabama)
Elizabeth Thoms (UT Arlington)
Jessica Kahts (Texas State)
Trang Huynh (Troy)

Sun Belt All-Conference Doubles First Team
Abigail Tere-Apisah/Masa Grgan (Georgia State)
Marcia Tere-Apisah/Tarani Kamoe (Georgia State)
Trang Huynh/Anja Cosovic (Troy)

Sun Belt All-Conference Singles Second Team
Tamara Slijepcevic (Arkansas State)
Linn Timmermann (Georgia State)
Petra Horakova (UL Monroe)
Monica Mitta (South Alabama)
Angeles de los Rios (UT Arlington)
Anja Cosovic (Troy)

Sun Belt All-Conference Doubles Second Team
Monica Mitta/Laura Valkova (South Alabama)
Emily Newton/Michaela Meszarosova (South Alabama)
Jessica Kahts/Ana Laura Gutierrez (Texas State)