Arnold, Celsor, & Calhoun win the Berryhill Award

SEARCY ( – Matt Calhoun, a member of the Harding University baseball team from Searcy, Ark., was honored in chapel Wednesday as the men's 2014 M.E. Berryhill Award winner. Kristen Celsor from the women's track and field and basketball teams and Mollie Arnold of the volleyball team were the women's winners.

The Berryhill Award is the highest award the Harding athletic department gives and is named after former coach and athletics director M.E. Berryhill. The honor is given to a senior male and female athlete who possesses the characteristics of athletic excellence, academic achievement, social maturity, and spiritual example.

Calhoun is a four-time Great American Conference Hitter of the Week and currently leads the GAC with a .386 batting average. He is a .307 career hitter with 15 home runs and 110 RBI in 173 games. Calhoun is Harding's career leader with a .991 fielding percentage.

Calhoun, a two-time Academic All-GAC honoree, is an exercise science major with a 3.56 grade point average.

Calhoun is the fifth Harding men's baseball player to receive the Berryhill Award since its inception in 1963 and the second in the last three years. Chase Presley won the award in 2012.

Arnold is a two-time American Volleyball Coaches Association honorable mention All-America honoree. She is also a two-time Great American Conference Player of the Year and four-time All-Conference honoree. Arnold ranks second at Harding with 1,884 career kills.

Arnold is a general studies major with a 3.72 grade point average.

Celsor earned All-America honors as a senior on Harding's women's basketball team that had the best season in program history in 2013-14. She was the Central Region Player of the Year and the GAC Player of the Year. Celsor is also a member of the Harding women's track and field team and holds the school record in the outdoor high jump. She has twice qualified for NCAA Division II nationals in the high jump.

Celsor, a two-time Capital One Academic All-America honoree, has a 3.91 grade point average in communication sciences and disorders.

Arnold is the sixth volleyball to earn the Berryhill Award and first since Synda Veitenheimer in 2006. Celsor is the seventh women's basketball player and first since Sierra Rollins in 2012. Harding women's track has had 14 Berryhill honorees, including Tiffany Chambers last season.