Governor declares three more counties as federal disasters

LITTLE ROCK, AR  (KAIT) – Governor Mike Beebe declared three other Arkansas counties as disaster areas after an EF-4 tornado tore through the central part of the state on April 27th. Beebe's office declared Pulaski, Randolph and White Counties as disaster areas, paving the way to individuals to apply for disaster aid.

The tornado, which started west of Little Rock, heavily damaged Mayflower before destroying homes in Vilonia and moved northeast, where it caused widespread damage in White County before stopping in Jackson County.

The tornado did not touch down in Randolph County, but Beebe declared it a disaster due to heavy flooding during the storms.

Tornado victims can apply for assistance by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency at 1-800-621-3362.

The official death toll from the tornado stands at 16. According to the National Weather Service in Little Rock, the April 27th tornado is the deadliest single storm since 1968.

In May, 1968, a tornado touched down near Tuckerman before moving through Jonesboro, killing at least 35 people.

Copyright 2014 KAIT. All rights reserved.