Arkansas Tech ranked #3 in final NCBWA Division II poll

RUSSELLVILLE, Ark. ( – The 2014 Great American Conference regular season champion Arkansas Tech Wonder Boys have remained No. 3 in the final national poll released by the National College Baseball Writers Association.

The Wonder Boys (42-10) await their NCAA tournament selection fate, to be announced Sunday, May 11.

Arkansas Tech and No. 23 Arkansas-Monticello are the two GAC teams ranked in the poll. Tournament champion Southern Arkansas received votes in the final poll.

The Wonder Boys are in the midst of perhaps the best season in school history. Arkansas Tech has set new program standards in wins, shattered the previous school record with a 22-game winning streak, and achieved the program's highest-ever national and regional rankings en route to the first outright conference championship since the 1992 season.

Wonder Boys head coach Dave Dawson earned Great American Conference Coach of the Year honors, while nine Wonder Boys players earned all-conference honors. Ryan Taylor, Randy Vallejo, Patrick Castleberry, and Sage Boehner earned first team honors, Mason Reynolds, Mike Kattula, and Kris Ayers earned second-team selections, while Jake Bell and James Sharp earned honorable mention picks.

Sharp was selected to the all-tournament team at the recent Great American Conference tournament.