Highland wins Arkansas High School Fishing Championship - KAIT-Jonesboro, AR-News, weather, sports

Highland wins Arkansas High School Fishing Championship

BULL SHOALS, Ark. (HighSchoolFishing.org) – The Highland High School team of Preston Wiles and Emma Johnson brought a five-bass limit to the scale Saturday weighing 11.57 pounds to win the 2014 Arkansas State High School Fishing Championship on Bull Shoals Lake. The win earned the team the title of state champions and qualified the team to compete in a future High School Fishing conference championship. 

The top nine teams on Ross Barnett Reservoir that advanced to the conference championship were:

1st:    Highland High School – Preston Wiles and Emma Johnson, five bass, 11.57 pounds
2nd:   Flippin High School – Brooke Pace and Amy May, five bass, 11.3 pounds
3rd:    Lake Hamilton High School – Beau Cantrell and Hunter Lawson, five bass, 10.99 pounds
4th:    Mount Ida High School – Hunter Bissell and Logan Abernathy, five bass, 10.94 pounds
5th:    White Hall High School – Taylor Armstrong and Michael Spadoni, five bass, 10.86 pounds
6th:    Heber Springs High School – James Ingram & Chase Gallaway, five bass, 10.66 pounds
7th:    Anvil Jaw Bass Club – Chase Myers and Cole Swede, five bass, 10.62 pounds
8th:    Mountain Home High School – Jay Gore and Jacob Beaver, five bass, 10.46 pounds
9th:    Watson Chapel High School – Cody Stroud and Blake Smith, five bass, 10.2 pounds
The 2014 Arkansas State High School Fishing Championship was a two-person (team) event for students in grades 9-12. The top 10 percent from each TBF/FLW state championship field will advance to a High School Fishing conference championship along with the top 3 teams from each of the six 2014 High School Fishing Opens that coincide with the 2014 Walmart FLW Tour. The top 10 percent of each conference championship field will then advance to the High School Fishing National Championship, coinciding with the TBF National Championship and an FLW Tour stop in the spring of 2015. The High School Fishing national champions will each receive a $5,000 college scholarship to the school of their choice.
Powered by WorldNow

472 Craighead Co. 766
Jonesboro, AR 72401
(870) 931-8888

FCC Public File
(870) 336-1816
EEO Report
Closed Captioning

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and KAIT. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.