Hunter Henry named to Mackey watch list

Hunter Henry named to Mackey watch list
FAYETTEVILLE ( – Arkansas sophomore Hunter Henry has been named to the 2014 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List, which is presented annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end. 

The award recipient is selected by a is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2014 John Mackey recipient will be announced on Dec.10, 2014 and then presented live on Dec.11, 2014 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU. Other key dates include the announcement of the 2014 Mackey Midseason Watch List on Oct. 13, 2014, the 2014 Mackey Semi-finalists on Nov.17, 2014 and the 2014 Mackey Finalists on Nov. 24, 2014.

Henry earned freshman All-America honors in 2013 from the FWAA, Sporting News, Athlon, Phil Steele, College Football News and 247Sports. He was selected to the All-SEC second team by the Associated Press and was a member of the SEC All-Freshman team after catching 28 passes for 409 yards a and team-high-tying four touchdowns. He was also one of two freshmen on the 2013 Mackey Award Midseason Watch List. He appeared in all 12 games with seven starts. His receiving yards ranked third in the nation among freshman tight ends, and he was the only freshman tight end in the SEC with a 100-yard receiving game (109 yards, vs. Texas A&M). Henry led all SEC tight ends by gaining a first down on 78.6 percent of his receptions in 2013.

In 2010, D.J. Williams became the first Mackey Award winner in Arkansas history after becoming the school's first semifinalist in 2008. He finished the season with a team-leading 54 receptions for 627 yards and four touchdowns.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position.  A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Fifteen of the association's 21 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates.

Following is the complete 2014 preseason watch list calendar:

July 7: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award

July 8: Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy

July 9: Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award

July 10: Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy

July 11: Jim Thorpe Award

July 14: Butkus Award / Rotary Lombardi Award

July 15: Biletnikoff Award

July 16: Davey O'Brien Award

July 17: Doak Walker Award

July 18: Walter Camp Award

The Friends of John Mackey is responsible for the administration of the John Mackey Award and the John Mackey Award Selection Committee.

For more information on Arkansas football, follow @RazorbackFB on Twitter.