Que Lee named Sun Belt Preseason Defensive Player of the Year

Que Lee named Sun Belt Preseason Defensive Player of the Year
NEW ORLEANS (SunBeltSports.org) – UL Lafayette’s Terrance Broadway and Arkansas State’s Qushaun Lee helped lead their teams to Sun Belt Championships last season and expectations will be high for the two this season as they were respectively named the Sun Belt Preseason Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year.  The announcement came along with the release of the Preseason All-Sun Belt teams on Monday.
Broadway, a senior quarterback from Baton Rouge, La. completed 62.4% of his passes for 2,419 yards and 19 touchdowns in 2013.  He also added 442 yards and eight touchdowns rushing while leading UL Lafayette to a share of the conference championship.  Broadway finished with a 153.3 efficiency which was the best mark in the Sun Belt.  He ranked tenth in the nation in yards per completion (14.6), 18th in passing efficiency, 39th in completion percentage, 47th in passing touchdowns and 50th in total offense. 
Lee is the 2014 preseason defensive player of the year after being named to the All-Sun Belt Conference First Team last season.  The senior from Prattville, Ala. earned GoDaddy Bowl Defensive MVP as he recorded 15 tackles in Arkansas State’s Bowl win.  Lee led conference in tackles with 134, which was the sixth most tackles in conference history and most by an Arkansas State player since 1991.  Lee also posted six tackles for loss, two forced fumbles, five quarterback hurries, three pass breakups and one interception. 
Broadway headlined the first team offense along with four UL Lafayette teammates.  Running backs Alonzo Harris and Elijah McGuire were both named to the team after earning All-Sun Belt first team honors last season.  They were joined by offensive lineman Daniel Quave and wide receiver Jamal Robinson.  Robinson was one of three receivers named to the first team along with J.D. McKissic (Arkansas State) and Rashon Ceaser (UL Monroe).  Wes Saxton earned the spot as the first team tight end.  Quave’s fellow lineman on the Preseason All-Sun Belt first team are Terrence Jones (Troy), Mike Marboe (Idaho), Chris May (South Alabama), and Ucambre Williams (South Alabama). 
Lee was one of four Arkansas State player named to the first team defense along with defensive lineman Chris Stone, and defensive backs Rocky Hayes and Sterling Young.  UL Lafayette and Texas State each added three defenders to the preseason All-Sun Belt first team.  The Ragin’ Cajuns were represented by defensive lineman Justin Hamilton, linebacker Dominique Tovell, and defensive back Trevence Patt.  Linebackers Michael Orakpo and David Mayo and defensive back Craig Mager were the Texas State honorees.  Defensive linemen Tyler Roberts (Troy) and Gerrand Johnson (UL Monroe) round out the first team defense. 
The special teams unit was led by Idaho punter Austin Rehkow who led the nation with a 47.8 average as well as breaking a record for a freshman punter.  Texas State place kicker Jason Dann was the first team kicker after making nine of 10 field goals last season.  In addition to being named a first team receiver, J.D. McKissic was tabbed as the first team Return Specialist.  McKissic ranked third in the country in kickoff returns with 30.0 yards per game.
Preseason All-Sun Belt Conference Honors
As Selected by the Sun Belt Conference Head Coaches and Select Members of the Media
Offensive Player of the Year
Terrance Broadway (UL Lafayette, Sr., QB)
Defensive Player of the Year
Qushaun Lee (Arkansas State, Sr., LB)
First Team Preseason Offense
Terrance Broadway (UL Lafayette, Sr., QB)
Alonzo Harris (UL Lafayette, Sr., RB)
Elijah McGuire (UL Lafayette, So., RB)
J.D. McKissic (Arkansas State, Jr., WR)
Jamal Robinson (UL Lafayette, Sr., WR)
Rashon Ceaser (UL Monroe, Jr., WR)
Wes Saxton (South Alabama, Sr., TE)
Daniel Quave (UL Lafayette, Sr., OL)
Mike Marboe, (Idaho, Sr., OL)
Chris May (South Alabama, Jr., OL)
Ucambre Williams (South Alabama, Sr., OL)
Terrence Jones (Troy, Sr., OL)
First Team Preseason Defense
Chris Stone (Arkansas State, Jr., DL)
Justin Hamilton (UL Lafayette, Sr., DL)
Gerrand Johnson (UL Monroe, Jr., DL)
Tyler Roberts (Troy, Jr., DL)
Qushaun Lee (Arkansas State, Sr., LB)
Dominique Tovell (UL Lafayette, Jr., LB)
David Mayo (Texas State, Sr., LB)
Michael Orakpo (Texas State, Sr., LB)
Rocky Hayes (Arkansas State, Jr., DB)
Sterling Young (Arkansas State, Sr., DB)

Trevence Patt (UL Lafayette, Sr., DB)
Craig Mager (Texas State, Sr., DB)
First Team Special Teams
Jason Dann (Texas State, Sr., PK)
Austin Rehkow (Idaho, So., P)
J.D. McKissic (Arkansas State, Jr., Returner)
Second Team Preseason Offense
Tyler Jones (Texas State, So., QB)
Michael Gordon (Arkansas State, Jr., RB)
Robert Lowe (Texas State, Jr., RB)
Jeremé Jones (South Alabama, Sr., WR)
Shavarez Smith (South Alabama, Sr., WR)
Bryan Holmes (Troy, Jr., WR)
Darion Griswold (Arkansas State, Jr., TE)
Colton Jackson (Arkansas State, So., OL)

Garrett Frye (Georgia Southern, Sr., OL)
Mykhael Quave (UL Lafayette, Jr., OL)
Joseph Treadwell (UL Monroe, Sr., OL)
Adrian Bellard (Texas State, Jr., OL)
Second Team Preseason Defense
Dexter Blackmon (Arkansas State, Sr., DL)
Maxx Forde (Idaho, Sr., DL)
Christian Ringo (UL Lafayette, Sr., DL)
Joey Gautney (UL Monroe, Sr., DL)
Jesse Kelley (South Alabama, Sr., DL)
Edwin Jackson (Georgia Southern, Jr., LB)
Joseph Peterson (Georgia State, So., LB)
Maleki Harris (South Alabama, Sr., LB)
Artez Brown (Arkansas State, Sr., DB)
Mitch Lane (UL Monroe, Jr., DB)
Qudarius Ford (South Alabama, Sr., DB)
Ethan Davis (Troy, Sr., DB)
Second Team Special Teams
Aleem Sunanon (South Alabama, So., PK)
Justin Manton (UL Monroe, Sr., P)
Brandon Smith (Texas State, Jr., Returner)