Trey Flowers named to Hendricks Award watch list

Trey Flowers named to Hendricks Award watch list

CHICAGO ( – Arkansas senior defensive end Trey Flowers has been named to the 2014 Ted Hendricks Award Watch List, the Ted Hendricks Award Foundation announced. Joining Flowers are 31 other defensive ends.

Flowers continues to collect preseason watch list recognition after previously being named to the Lombardi, Nagurski and Bednarik Award watch lists. The Huntsville, Ala. native was a second-team All-SEC performer in 2013, finishing the season with 44 tackles, including 13.5 for loss with 5.0 sacks, three forced fumbles, one interception, two pass breakups and five quarterback hurries. In his career, Flowers has registered 122 tackles, 32.0 for loss with 12.0 sacks, 17 quarterback hurries, three forced fumbles, seven pass breakups and one interception. He enters his senior campaign tied for 11th on Arkansas' career tackles for loss list and tied for 16th on the school's career sacks list.

The criteria for Ted Hendricks Award are on-field performance, exceptional winning attitude, leadership abilities, contributions to school and community and academic preparedness. The initial watch list will be adjusted as the 2014 season progresses and will remain open to additions and subtractions until the selection committee casts its first vote in late November.

Members of the national media, head coaches, professional scouts and former winners are included in the Award's voting committee. Candidates may represent any class (freshman through senior) as well as any four-year NCAA accredited school.

There will be two votes for The Hendricks Award. The first will narrow the list of candidates down to a handful of finalists and the second will choose the winner. The 2014 winner will be announced on December 10th.

The Ted Hendricks Award is named in honor of college football's first three-time first-team All-American, who played at Miami. Ted Hendricks went on to win four Super Bowls and was selected to the Pro Bowl eight times. He is a member of both the College and Pro Football Hall of Fames.

Arkansas opens its season Aug. 30 at Auburn. The season opener will begin at 3 p.m. and be broadcast nationally on the SEC Network.

For more information on Arkansas football, follow

on Twitter.