Region 8 Teacher Named Arkansas Professor of the Year

December 9, 2004 – Posted at 4:49 p.m. CST

BATESVILLE – Academy Award nominees always say it's an honor just to be nominated, but to win is the icing on the cake. It's the same thing for one Region 8 professor, who just became part of history at Lyon College.

Award winner Dr. Mark Schram said, "I was shocked. I was speechless. I actually had to read the letter several times to make sure it didn't say you didn't not receive the Arkansas Professor of the Year award, so I was truly surprised."

Dr. Schram still can't believe that he's this year's recipient for the Arkansas Professor of the Year. But his students say they're not surprised at all.

"You can tell he really loves what he does. It's that positive attitude that has kind of rubbed off on me," said sophomore Monica Taylor, "I just feel like you can do anything if you love what your doing."

Senior Seth Purcell said, "He's going to do everything he can to prepare you for the next step so you can tackle your dreams and go after it and do what you want to do."

Out of the last 16 years, 11 teachers who have won the award of Arkansas Professor of the Year have been professors at Lyon College. Officials say it's an honor that never gets old.

Dr. Wallie Roettger, President of Lyon College, said "That's a recognition that is unmatched by any of the 217 national liberal arts colleges in the country. We're just thrilled to be able to have this great quality of faculty."

Both students and faculty say Dr. Schram's approach is pretty effective.

"I try to give them the opportunity to learn about things that might interest time, certainly interest me. And take a look into the future at how the subject presently will effect them in the future, if you can link it to an application, then you win," said Dr. Schram.

"He's a hands on kind of guy," said Dr. Roettger, "He's always accessible, always available, always there for them. You'll find him here on the weekends; you'll find him here on the evenings and working. Working with individual students or working with them in groups. But most of all he cares about their success."

The Arkansas Professor of the Year is awarded by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education.