Local winners and losers in Tuesday's elections

JONESBORO, AR (KAIT) - On Tuesday, Nov. 4, Arkansas voters went to the polls and cast their ballots, effectively changing the course of the state.

In the race for U.S. Senate they picked Cotton over Pryor, and opted for Asa instead of another Mike for governor.

While the big races were called early by the Associated Press, citizens in Region 8 waited for hours to find out who won local elections.

Craighead and Greene counties were among those submitting their results late into the night.

By Wednesday, voters knew who had

and who would head into a run-off.

Winners and Losers

By the time the numbers were all counted, some communities found themselves with new leaders.

While incumbent State Representatives Scott Baltz of District 61 and Mary Broadaway of District 57 retained their seats, Harold Copenhaver of District 58 and Robert Thompson of District 20 were given the boot.

After serving the people of Greene County for 18 years, Dan Langston awoke Wednesday morning with the realization that citizens had voted him out in favor of David Carter. The county also elected Rusty McMillion as their new judge, ousting Jerry Shipman. Paragould voters, however, re-elected Mayor Mike Gaskill by a large margin over his challenger.

There were fewer surprises in Craighead, where incumbents Tax Collector Marsha Phillips and County Judge Ed Hill retained their positions, each defeating their opponents by a 14% margin.

Run-Off Elections

When the polls closed at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, many voters heaved a sigh of relief. Months of campaign ads and standing in long lines at polling places had finally come to an end.

But some Region 8 voters will have to head back to the polls on Nov. 25 to decide who will serve them as mayor, aldermen, and other community leaders.

Among the mayoral races that will be decided in run-off elections are: Bald Knob, Blytheville, Bradford, Brookland, Corning, Earle, Forrest City, Heber Springs, Hoxie, Keiser, Madison, Mountain View, and Turrell.

Cross County voters will elect a new Justice of the Peace for District 8; while the people of Parkin will have to elect a clerk/treasurer/recorder.

Other races that will be decided in run-offs:

  • Bono City Clerk
  • Heber Springs Alderman, Ward 2, Position 1
  • Walnut Ridge Alderman Ward 1, Position 2
  • Mammoth Spring Alderman Ward 1, Position 2
  • Clay County Constable, Gleghorn and South Kilgore
  • Trumann Alderman Ward 3, Position 1
  • Osceola Alderman Ward 3, Position 1
  • Stone County Constable #7, East Out
  • Hughes Alderman Ward 2, Position 1
  • Forrest City Alderman Ward 3, Position 1
  • White County Constable, Cypert Township
  • Bald Knob Alderman Ward 2, Position 1
  • Hardy Alderman Ward 1, Position 2

Issue 4: Alcoholic beverage amendment

Despite Tuesday's rain which poured into Wednesday, proponents of alcohol sales in the state were left high-and-dry.

With 74 of 75 counties reporting, 57% of Arkansans voting against the measure and 43% voting for.

The issue failed in all but one Region 8 county.

Randolph County residents cast 2,551 votes for the amendment. That was just 55 votes more than those who voted against the amendment.

Here's how the rest of Region 8 voted on Issue 4:

County For Against


1,582    2,399

Craighead    9,121    16,001


1,906    3,269


3,421    7,370

Independence    4,188    5,788


1,997    2,340


1,217    2,880

Lawrence    1,732    2,850

Mississippi    4,366    5,330

Poinsett    1,882    4,349

Randolph    2,551    2,496


1,788    3,853

Issue #5: Increase the Arkansas minimum wage

Arkansas voters believe they're due a pay raise. 

Citizens overwhelmingly approved Issue #5 which raises the state minimum wage from $6.25 to $8.50 over a three-year period.

According to the Secretary of State's office, 66% of voters approved the measure while 34% voted against it.

County For Against
Clay 2,804    1,101
Craighead    16,034    8,953
Cross 3,545    1,646
Greene 6,852    4,008
Independence    6,308    3,542
Izard 2,780    1,523
Jackson 2,815    1,274
Lawrence 3,128    1,422
Mississippi    7,172    2,603
Poinsett        4,436    1,805
Randolph        3,399    1,571
Sharp 3,573    2,053

Copyright 2014 KAIT. All rights reserved.