ASU alumni honor Jonesboro teens with scholarships

ASU alumni honor Jonesboro teens with scholarships

JONESBORO, AR (KAIT) - Two Jonesboro High School students received scholarships for their commitment to excellence.

The Jonesboro Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Incorporated held its 11th annual Sonja D. Williams Scholarship Breakfast Saturday morning.

The Spring River Room at the ASU Student Union was full of supporters for the chapter. Jonesboro Mayor Harold Perrin attended the breakfast and Rennell Woods was the invocation speaker. The theme of the scholarship ceremony was Quality Education: A Community Commitment.

Taylor Wilson and Shaniqua Dean, both Jonesboro High School students, were each presented with a $500 book scholarship.

Latwayla Knowlton, co-chair of the event, said the 2 young women went above and beyond to prove they earned the support.

"Pretty much, they have to prove that they have scholarly achievements, leadership, and community service, and that they are going to a 4 year institution," Knowlton said.

Knowlton said education, scholarship, and community support are all parts of the Delta Sigma Theta mission.

Guests said it is also a great event to visit and reconnect with friends and sisters.

The scholarships are given in the name of Sonja D.Williams, a longtime Jonesboro teacher and now administrator.

Copyright 2015 KAIT. All rights reserved.