A-State Baseball falls to Ole Miss

A-State Baseball falls to Ole Miss

JONESBORO, AR (ASU) – The Arkansas State baseball team concluded its nonconference schedule Tuesday night with a 17-3 loss to Ole Miss at Tomlinson Stadium.

Ole Miss scored eight runs in the first two innings but, A-State (23-27) responded in the bottom half of the second inning, when Matt Burgess led off with a single and Lucas Feddersen with a single up the middle. Ty White walked to load the bases and Jeremy Brown drew a bases loaded to get the Red Wolves on the scoreboard.

Zach George followed with another bases loaded walk to extend his on-base streak to 67 games and get within 8-2.

The Red Wolves scored their final run of the night on an RBI single by Ty Michelotti in the seventh inning.

Burgess went 3-for-4 and scored a run to lead A-State at the plate. George had two walks and an RBI, while Jeremy Brown had a hit, two walks and scored a run.

Sikes Orvis gave Ole Miss (29-24) the early advantage with a grand slam in the first inning after Nord gave up back-to-back singles and walked a batter to start the game. He hit his second home run in as many innings in the second when he sent a 3-run blast over the wall in right field for cap the second four run inning for the Rebels.

Ole Miss added a run in the third and another in the fifth to push the advantage to 10-2. The Rebels added seven runs in the seventh inning, which included a 3-run home run by Errol Robinson. A pair of RBI singles off the bats of Orvis and Henri Latigue pushed the lead to 16-2 and J.B. Woodman drove in the final run of the inning with a single to give Ole Miss a 17-2 lead.

Orvis finished the game 3-for-3 with eight RBIs on the night, while Robinson added three hits and three RBIs.

The Red Wolves host UALR in their final conference series of the season starting Thursday night at Tomlinson Stadium.  First pitch against the Rebels is set for 6:30 p.m.  For the latest on A-State baseball follow the team by logging onto the team's Facebook page at

and following them on Twitter (@ASTATEBaseball).