A-State Baseball’s George named First-Team All-SBC

A-State Baseball’s George named First-Team All-SBC

TROY, AL (ASU) –Arkansas State redshirt senior Zach George has been named a 2015 First-Team All-Sun Belt Conference selection, the league announced Tuesday at its annual family night before the start of the SBC Baseball Championship Tournament.

George was named to the first team as an utility player after playing 26 games at first base, 22 at third base, and three at designated hitter.  He is having a fantastic season at the plate as he has reached base in all 51 games this season, plus 19 more from the previous two seasons that were cut short by injury.  The 70-game on-base streak is currently the longest in the nation and records indicate it is the longest streak in school history.

Additionally, George leads the conference with a .544 on-base percentage that also ranks as the second best in the entire nation.  He leads the league with a .390 batting average, which also ranks as the 15th highest average in the country.  He has walked a league-high 48 times and is only two walks away from surpassing the Arkansas State record of 49 set by Matt Bryant in 1996.  He has 139 bases on balls in his career and is only three away from taking over the career record of 141 by Ryan Emery set from 2010-13.

A native of Paragould, Ark., George also leads the team in slugging percentage (.529), hit-by-pitches (16), and hits (73).  He's second on the team with 18 doubles, 99 total bases, and nine stolen bases.  He's also scored 36 runs, knocked in 29, has hit two home runs, and one triple.  He's also the only regular starter to have more walks (48) than strikeouts (27).  He is the team leader in multiple-hit games with 24, including a team-high nine three-hit contests.

George becomes the ninth all-conference selection under head coach Tommy Raffo and first for the Red Wolves since Daniel Wright earned first-team honors in the 2013 season.

Arkansas State begins the tournament at 12:30 p.m. Wednesday against the top seed South Alabama.  The game can be heard on 95.3 FM The Ticket/970 AM KNEA and on the Red Wolves Digital Network on

.  The game can also be watched for free via webstream on


All- Sun Belt Baseball First Team

Taylor Thurber (Appalachian State, Senior, SP)

Evan Challenger (Georgia Southern, RS-Sophomore, SP)

Kevin Hill (South Alabama, Senior, SP)

Ben Taylor (South Alabama, Senior, RP)

Joey Roach (Georgia State, Junior, C)

Matt Rose (Georgia State, Junior, 1B)

Stefan Trosclair (UL Lafayette, Junior, 2B)

Blake Trahan (UL Lafayette, Junior, SS)

Tanner Rockwell (UALR, Senior, 3B)

Aaron Mizell (Georgia Southern, Senior, OF)

Ryan Blanton (Georgia State, Sophomore, OF)

Cole Billingsley (South Alabama, RS-Sophomore, OF)

Zach George (Arkansas State, RS-Senior, UTL)

David Hall (Troy, Senior, DH)

All-Sun Belt Baseball Second Team

Gunner Leger (UL Lafayette, Freshman, SP)

Grant Bennett (Troy, Junior, SP)

Lucas Brown (Troy, Junior, SP)

Dylan Moore (UL Lafayette, Freshman, RP)

Chase Griffin (Georgia Southern, Senior, C)

Levi Scott (UT Arlington, Senior, 1B)

Dillon Dobson (Appalachian State, Junior, 2B)

Travis Sibley (UT Arlington, Senior, SS)

Keelin Rasch (UL Monroe, Senior, 3B)

Kyle Clement (UL Lafayette, Junior, OF)

Granger Studdard (Texas State, Sophomore, OF)

Logan Hill (Troy, Junior, OF)

Anthony Herrera (UL Monroe, Sophomore, UTL)

Tyler Girouard (UL Lafayette, Senior, DH)

Sun Belt Baseball Player of the Year

Blake Trahan (UL Lafayette, Junior, SS)

Sun Belt Baseball Pitcher of the Year

Kevin Hill (South Alabama, Senior, SP)

Sun Belt Baseball Freshman of the Year

Gunner Leger (UL Lafayette, Freshman, SP)

Sun Belt Baseball Ron Maestri Coach of the Year

Mark Calvi, South Alabama