State, communities receive millions to fight crime

State, communities receive millions to fight crime

JONESBORO, AR (KAIT) - The state of Arkansas and several Region 8 communities will receive $2.3 million to fight crime and protect police officers.

U.S. Senators John Boozman and Tom Cotton, along with Congressmen Rick Crawford, French Hill, Steve Womack and Bruce Westerman announced Tuesday the federal grants from the Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program will be used to purchase law enforcement equipment and supplies.

According to a news release from Sen. Boozman's office, Jonesboro and Craighead County will receive $27,675 to purchase equipment for law enforcement agencies.

Blytheville and Mississippi County will receive $18,316 to purchase new supplies and equipment for law enforcement operations.

The city of West Memphis and Crittenden County will receive $61,399 for equipment and to provide officer training to support law enforcement initiatives.

The following recipients will also receive funding:

State of Arkansas: The Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration, Office of Intergovernmental Services will receive $1,948,090 to support multi-jurisdictional task force programs, law enforcement programs, prosecution and court programs and prevention and education programs. It will provide assistance to state and local law enforcement units to improve their effectiveness in controlling and deterring crime, including multi-jurisdictional drug task forces. The goal of the program is to provide assistance in arrest and prosecution by making the criminal files, laboratory evidence, and legal research available to the prosecutor before the trial begins.

Saline County: The county will receive $12,038 to purchase a police patrol vehicle for the County Sheriff's Office in order to support community based policing initiatives.

Conway: The City of Conway and Faulkner County will receive $21,484 to purchase law enforcement equipment.

El Dorado: The City of Eldorado will receive $17,049 to update its law enforcement technology supplies and equipment for use in crime prevention and criminal investigations at the El Dorado Police Department and the Union County Sheriff's Department.

Fayetteville: The City of Fayetteville, City of Springdale and Washington County will receive $72,774 to purchase equipment, supplies and training for enforcement agencies.

Hot Springs: The Garland County Sheriff's office will receive $19,612 to purchase law enforcement Tasers and holsters.

North Little Rock: The City of North Little Rock will receive $43,831 to purchase law enforcement equipment.

Pine Bluff: The City of Pine Bluff and the Jefferson County Sheriff's Office will receive $53,968 to support law enforcement training initiatives.

Rogers: The City of Rogers and Benton County will receive $29,950 to purchase supplies, equipment and new technology for law enforcement.

Copyright 2015 KAIT. All rights reserved.

Region 8 News App - Install or update on your: iPhone | Android