A-State Volleyball to play Georgia Southern to open SBC Tourney - KAIT Jonesboro, AR - Region 8 News, weather, sports

A-State Volleyball to play Georgia Southern to open SBC Tourney

View Full Bracket

NEW ORLEANS, LA (SBC) - The Sun Belt Conference announced the complete bracket, final seeds, and game times for the upcoming Sun Belt Conference Volleyball Championship following the completion of regular season play on Sunday. The single-elimination tournament will be held from Friday, November 20th through Sunday, November 22nd at Hanner Fieldhouse in Statesboro, Georgia.
Eight teams will compete for the Sun Belt Championship and a berth into the 2015 NCAA Women's Volleyball Championship.
Arkansas State wrapped up an undefeated Sun Belt season with a sweep of Appalachian State on Thursday and will be the tournament’s No. 1 overall seed. The win over the Mountaineers extended the Red Wolves' nation-best winning streak to 21 matches and puts the team at 25-1 on the year with an undefeated conference mark of 16-0.  The regular-season championship is the first SBC conference title since the team won the West Division in 2011 and first outright championship since 1998.  The undefeated regular-season run through the league marks the first time an A-State team has accomplished that feat since the 1996 season.
The Red Wolves will take on eighth-seeded Georgia Southern in Friday’s final match of the day scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET.
Appalachian State will be the No. 2 seed after finishing the season 13-3 conference play. With a 20-7 overall record, the Mountaineers have been paced offensively by Paige Brown, the Preseason Setter of the Year. Brown now remains just 87 total assists away from breaking the all-time program record for assists in a career. Brown has now tallied 4,321 assists.
The Mountaineers will face seventh-seeded Troy on Friday at 12:00 p.m. ET.
Texas State earned the No. 3 seed after winning their last five regular-season matches. The Bobcats will open the tournament with sixth-seeded South Alabama on Friday at 2:30 p.m. ET.
UT Arlington earned the No. 4 seed for the second year in a row. They finished 10-6 in conference play and 19-9 in the regular season, after defeating South Alabama in their last regular season match.
The Mavericks will face fifth-seeded Little Rock on Friday at 5 p.m. ET.
Little Rock went 9-7 during conference play this season. After defeating Appalachian State on Friday, the Trojans secured the fifth seed.
South Alabama secured the sixth seed after finishing 7-9 in conference play. After their loss to UT Arlington on Sunday, the Jaguars finished 13-14 overall.
Troy, who wrapped up the regular season with a 7-9 record against conference opponents, will be seeded seventh in the tournament. The Trojans lost their last conference match to Georgia Southern, who earned the eighth and final seed.
Georgia Southern clinched their spot in the tournament after defeating Troy in four sets on Friday. Georgia Southern will host this year's tournament in Statesboro.
The 2015 Sun Belt Conference Volleyball Championship begins on Friday with four first round matches. The action will continue on Saturday with two semifinal matches. The 2015 Sun Belt Conference Volleyball Championship match is scheduled for Sunday at 1 p.m. (ET). All matches will be available for viewing on ESPN3. Fans can also follow along via Twitter (@SunBelt) or through live stats, also available at the Sun Belt website.
2015 Sun Belt Conference Volleyball Championship Seeds
1. Arkansas State (25-1, 16-0 Sun Belt)
2. Appalachian State (20-7, 13-3 Sun Belt)
3. Texas State (18-11, 13-3 Sun Belt)
4. UT Arlington (19-9, 10-6 Sun Belt)
5. Little Rock (13-13, 9-7 Sun Belt)
6. South Alabama (13-14, 7-9 Sun Belt)
7. Troy (14-17, 7-9 Sun Belt)
8. Georgia Southern (10-18, 5-11 Sun Belt)
2015 Sun Belt Conference Volleyball Championship Schedule
Friday, November 20 (First Round)
M1 - 12 p.m. ET – No. 7 Troy vs. No. 2 Appalachian State
M2 – 2:30 p.m. ET – No. 6 South Alabama vs. No. 3 Texas State
M3 - 5 p.m. ET – No. 5 Little Rock vs. No. 4 UT Arlington
M4 – 7:30 p.m. ET – No. 8 Georgia Southern vs. No. 1 Arkansas State
Saturday, November 21 (Semifinals)
M5 – 4 p.m. ET – Match 1 Winner vs. Match 2 Winner
M6 – 6:30 p.m. ET – Match 3 Winner vs. Match 4 Winner
Sunday, November 22 (Championship Match)
M7 - 1 p.m. ET – Match 5 Winner vs. Match 6 Winner
*Appalachian State and Texas State each finished the regular-season with identical 13-3 records; however, the Mountaineers defeated the Bobcats, 3-0, in their lone match this season and therefore earned the No. 2 seed in the tournament.
*South Alabama and Troy each finished the regular season with identical 7-9 records. The teams split their two matches during the regular season; however, South Alabama won 5 sets to Troy’s 4. Therefore, South Alabama earned the No. 6 seed. 

Powered by Frankly