More AR counties declare disasters after storms

JONESBORO, AR (KAIT) - So far, 25 counties in Arkansas have declared disaster areas after severe storms and heavy rain left behind tornado damage and flood damage, according to the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management.

In Region 8, Greene, Jackson, Randolph, Baxter and White Counties have either verbal or written declarations. The governor must accept their declaration before the state can provide assistance.

Other counties added Tuesday were: Chicot, Crawford, Jefferson, Little River, Marion, Montgomery and Sebastian Counties.

The governor's office said additional counties may be added to the list as assessments continue.

Region 8 News will have more information as details emerge. Follow us on Twitter and Facebook for up to the minute updates.

Copyright 2015 KAIT. All rights reserved.

Region 8 News App - Install or update on your: iPhone | Android