2 Region 8 counties declared disaster areas

JONESBORO, AR (KAIT) - Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson declared five more counties disaster areas on Friday, including two in Region 8.

Following severe storms in December that caused heavy flooding and damage, the governor issued disaster declarations for Independence, Mississippi, Lee, Dallas and Woodruff counties.

To date, 43 counties have been declared disaster areas.

As damage assessments continue, the governor's office said additional counties may be added.

Copyright 2016 KAIT. All rights reserved.

Region 8 News App - Install or update on your: iPhone | Android