A-State Track & Field Collects 34 Top-10 Finishes at KMS Invite

A-State Track & Field Collects 34 Top-10 Finishes at KMS Invite

BIRMINGHAM, AL (astateredwolves.com) – The Arkansas State University track and field teams competed at the KMS Invite at the Birmingham Crossplex on Sunday and left with 34 top-10 performances.

Sophomore Kristina Knott posted back-to-back personal bests in the 60-meter dash. In the preliminaries, Knott posted the top qualifying time of 7.45 seconds, but clocked a 7.35 in the final to win the event by almost two-tenths of a second (7.53). With the time, Knott inches closer to Sharika Nelvis' school record time of 7.28 seconds set in 2014.

Knott continued her strong day with a third place finish, best among college runners, in the 200-meter dash. She clocked a time of 23.87 seconds, a new personal-best and the second-fastest time in school history. Only Nelvis has a better time, clocking a time of 23.50 in 2014.

Sophomore distance runner Arnica Zitting posted a personal-best in the mile run and finished fourth. She ran the mile in 5:10.26, the ninth-fastest time in program history. Junior Lindsey Mills was seventh, also running a personal-best with a time of 5:17.65.

Zitting added a fourth place finish in the 3,000-meter run with a time of 10:17.44. Mills added another top-10 finish, clocking a time of 10:39.37 in the 3,000-meter event.

Three A-State women's runners finished in the top-10 of the 600-meter run. Samone Thompson finished third with a time of 1:37.28 and Andrea Perez was sixth in 1:36.77. Anaelle Charles rounded out the top-10 with a time of 1:41.11.

Elsewhere on the track, the A-State women picked up two top-10 finishes in the 60-meter hurdles. Emenderlyn Iwuji was sixth with a time of 8.65 seconds and Trevene Cowan posted the ninth-fastest time in program history of 8.97 seconds to finish 10th. In the 400-meter dash, Erika Christian finished eighth clocking a time of 56.91 seconds.

In the women's field events, sophomore Ivery Guyton won the high jump competition with a personal-best clearance of 1.70m (5-07.00). The first place finish is her third in four meets this year. Darragh May finished fifth with a clearance of 1.65m (5-05.00). Iwuji added a second top-10 finish for the day with a third place long jump of 5.49m (18-00.25). Gracee Damron leaped a personal-best 5.34m (17-06.25) in the long jump to finish eighth.

In the throwing events, Erin Farmer and Calea Carr finished second and third, respectively, in the shot put. Farmer posted a throw of 15.30m (50-02.50) while Carr had a throw of 14.36m (47-01.50). The duo also had top-10 finishes in the weight throw with Farmer finishing fourth (17.40m/57-01.00) and Carr posted a personal-best to finish 10th (15.56m/51-00.75).

Reigning Sun Belt Conference Male Field Athlete of the Week Tiaan Steenkamp posted the highest finish of the day for A-State men. Steenkamp finished third in the high jump, clearing 2.05m (6-08.75). David Phillips was seventh in the high jump competition with a mark of 1.90m (6-02.75).

In other field event action, Cristian Ravar Ladislau was fourth in the weight throw with a toss of 16.57m (54-04.50) and Juan Pimentel posted a personal-best of 15.99m (52-05.50) to finish seventh. In the pole vault, Cameron Stalnaker (8th) and Michael Carr (9th) each cleared 4.55m (14-11.00).

Jaylen Bacon collected two top-10 finishes on the day, placing fourth in the 60-meter dash with a time of 6.75 seconds and ninth in the 200-meter dash clocking a time of 21.79 seconds. Elijah Ross was ninth in the 60-meter dash, posting a time of 6.92 seconds. Also on the track, Jamil Peeples posted personal-best in 60-meter hurdles with time of 8.28 seconds to finish ninth.

In the distance events, Jay-be Van Rooyen clocked a time of 1:57.01 in the 800-meter run to finish sixth. Zach Rail posted a 10th-place finish with a time of 9:11.36 in the 3,000-meter run.

The Red Wolves split up next weekend for the Don DeNoon Invitational in Carbondale, Ill., while other A-State athletes will compete at the Birmingham CrossPlex in the South Alabama Invitational.