President Obama approves disaster aid

President Obama approves disaster aid

JONESBORO, AR (KAIT) - President Barack Obama approved Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson's request to declare multiple Arkansas counties as disaster areas.

The declaration comes as a result of severe weather and flooding that plagued Arkansas from late December and January.

According to a press release from the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management, the declaration will allow residents and governmental bodies in the affected areas, who meet certain criteria, to apply for assistance.

Assistance will be available for all 32 counties including: Benton, Boone, Bradley, Calhoun, Carroll, Clay, Crawford, Dallas, Drew, Franklin, Greene, Independence, Izard, Lawrence, Little River, Logan, Madison, Marion, Mississippi, Montgomery, Ouachita, Perry, Pike, Polk, Randolph, Scott, Searcy, Stone, Washington, White, Woodruff, and Yell Counties.

According to the release, individual assistance for people and households will be available for residents of Benton, Carroll, Crawford, Faulkner, Jackson, Jefferson, Lee, Little River, Perry, Sebastian, and Sevier.

If requested by the state, additional counties may be added to the disaster declaration.

Officials with ADEM and FEMA will be in the affected areas soon to accept applications for assistance.

Copyright 2016 KAIT. All rights reserved.

Region 8 News App - Install or update on your: iPhone | Android