A-State Baseball falls to Milwaukee in series finale

A-State Baseball falls to Milwaukee in series finale

Jonesboro, AR (A-State) – The Arkansas State baseball team dropped a 9-2 decision to Milwaukee Sunday afternoon at Tomlinson Stadium/Kell Field in Jonesboro as the Panthers avoided a four-game sweep at the expense of the Red Wolves.

The Panthers (3-9) put up two runs in the top of the first off A-State (7-5) starter Bryan Ayers on a RBI single by Luke Meeteer and RBI groundout by John Boidanis. A-State struck back with a run in the bottom of the second inning with a RBI groundout by Frankie Alvarez that scored Matt Burgess to put the score at 2-1.

The score remained 2-1 until the Panthers scored three in the top of the seventh on a RBI double by Meeteer and two-run, pinch-hit single by Dan Barwick. Ty White singled home a run in the bottom of the inning to cut the lead to 5-2, but another three-run inning by Milwaukee put the game out of reach. The Panthers added a lone run in the top of the ninth on a solo home run by Nick Unes to set the final at 9-2.

Ayers took the loss for the Red Wolves after allowing the two first-inning runs on one hit. The Vilonia, Ark., native struck out six batters, but walked seven. The A-State relief corps of J.D. Miller, Coulton Lee, Bradey Welsh, and Bo Ritter allowed seven runs (all earned), but did strike out seven batters with only one walk. Offensively, White had two of A-State's four hits.

Adam Reuess earned the win for Milwaukee with 6.1 strong innings that saw him give up two runs (one earned) on three hits with four strikeouts and three walks. Jake Tuttle and Elijah Goodman combined for 2.2 innings out of the bullpen to finish the game. Meeteer, Barwick, Daulton Varsho, and Eric Solberg all had two hits for the visitors. Barwick led the team with three RBIs despite only getting two at-bats and Billy Quirke walked four times in the game and reached on a bunt single.

Arkansas State resumes action in a two-game midweek series against Austin Peay. First pitch Tuesday against the Governors is set for 6:30 p.m.; while Wednesday's is set for 3 p.m.