A-State Men's Golf Leading Red Wolves Intercollegiate

A-State Men's Golf Leading Red Wolves Intercollegiate

JONESBORO, Ark. (4/4/16) – Playing with a pair of five-man squads at its 20th Annual Red Wolves Intercollegiate home men's golf tournament, Arkansas State's two team's finished the 54-hole tournament's opening two rounds Monday at RidgePointe Country Club in first and third place.

The Red Wolves' leading squad posted a 13-under-par 555 and holds a six-stroke lead over second-place Tennessee-Martin, while A-State's "B" team shot a 3-over 571.  Arkansas State is looking to not only claim its seventh all-time championship at its home event, but has also put itself in a position to collect its fifth tournament title this season that would break the school record.

The Red Wolves' 555 was comprised of an opening-round 278 and a 277 for the next 18 holes, which was the second lowest single-round score by the team this year.  Oswin Schlenkrich led the Red Wolves with a 6-under 136, placing him in a two-way tie with UT Martin's Gavin Shellnut atop the individual leaderboard.

Andrew Huseman is only one stroke behind the co-leaders and in third place after shooting a 137, while Tanner Napier stands tied for seventh with a 143, Joel Wendin tied for 16th with a 143 and Seth Garner tied for 35th with a 147.

The A-State "B" team began play with a 294, but cut 17 strokes off that total in the second round.  The squad was led by Matt Loiacano, who shot a 140 to end the day tied for seventh place.  Following Loiacano, Joel Wendin and Trent Jones each posted a 143 to put them in a tie for 16th place.  Petter Salqvist is currently tied for 27th place with a 145 and Drake Merritt stands 78th with a 162.

The 15-team field will wrap up play at the Red Wolves Intercollegiate tomorrow with the third-and-final round set to get underway at 8:00 a.m.


Place, Name (RD 1-RD 2—TOTAL)

1, Arkansas State (278-277—555)

T1, Oswin Schlenkrich (67-69—136)

3, Andrew Huseman (71-66—137)

T7, Tanner Napier (71-69—140)

T16, Joel Wendin (69-74—143)

T35, Seth Garner (74-73—147)

3, Arkansas State "B" (294-277—571)

T7, Matthew Loiacano (71-69—140)

T16, Cameron McRae (74-69—143)

T16, Trent Jones (75-68—143)

T27, Petter Salqvist (74-71—145)

78, Drake Merritt (84-78—162)