A-State Women¹s Basketball Receives Proclamation

A-State Women¹s Basketball Receives Proclamation

JONESBORO, Ark. (4/19/16) – Jonesboro Mayor Harold Perrin issued an official proclamation at Tuesday night's Jonesboro City Council meeting recognizing the Arkansas State women's basketball program for its accomplishments during the 2015-16 season, which included the team's second regular season Sun Belt Conference championship in three seasons and a third straight appearance in the Women's National Invitation Tournament (WNIT).

The proclamation honors the Red Wolves for their 19-1 league record and their school-record 27 regular season victories. A-State had an 18-game winning streak during the season, the fifth longest at the time and currently holds a 25-game home winning streak which is the fourth longest in the nation.

A-State head coach Brian Boyer, along with his coaching staff and the entire women's basketball team was on hand to accept the proclamation from Mayor Perrin.

Arkansas State won 73 games from the 2013-14 season through the 2015-16 season, which accounts for the most wins in school history over any three-year span. The WNIT berth was the 11th in school history and the seventh under Coach Boyer. It was also just the second time in school history that Red Wolves have played in three consecutive postseason tournaments.

The Red Wolves also captured the Sun Belt Conference Team Academic award with an overall team GPA of 3.17, and placed eight student-athletes on the SBC Academic Honor Roll and SBC Commissioner's lists, while also giving the Red Wolves the team academic award for the third time in the last four seasons.

Aundrea Gamble and Khadija Brown-Haywood were also named to the All-Sun Belt Conference First-Team, while Gamble became the first student-athlete in league history to win the Sun Belt Conference Student-Athlete of the Year award three consecutive years.