Eight run seventh inning powers A-State Baseball to win

Eight run seventh inning powers A-State Baseball to win

Jonesboro, AR (A-State) – Arkansas State scored 11 unanswered, including an eight-run seventh inning in a 12-4 victory over Louisiana-Monroe Saturday night at Tomlinson Stadium.

Joe Schrimpf hit a 2-run home run, while Austin Baker added a solo home run and Garret Rucker drove in three runs as A-State captured its first Sun Belt Conference series win of the year.

Schrimpf's blast came in the fifth inning and closed the deficit to 4-3. Baker tied the game in the sixth inning with a solo shot to right-centerfield and A-State exploded for eight runs in the seventh to put the game out of reach.

Tanner Ring started the rally with a double down the left field line to give Arkansas State its first lead of the night. Baker followed a sacrifice fly and Matt Burgess singled to center field to push the advantage to three runs.

Following a ULM pitching change, Frankie Alvarez doubled drove in a run with an RBI double and the inning continued when Tony Ortiz, Ty White and Schrimpf each drew walks to drive in two more runs. White and Schrimpf's walks came with the bases loaded and Rucker followed with a 2-run single before the inning came to a close with a pop up by Ring.

The bottom half of the inning took 32 minutes to play and the Red Wolves sent 13 batters to the plate and scored eight runs on six hits.

ULM scored a pair of runs in the second and fourth innings, but Coulton Lee shut the door on the Warhawks when he entered in the fifth inning. Lee worked five innings in relief and struck out four to earn his team-high fifth victory of the year. Lee faced the minimum and did allow a hit and walked just one hitter.

Nine of the 10 hitters A-State used on the night collected a hit and all 10 reached base. Schrimpf finished the night 2-for-3 with three RBIs, while Rucker added two hits and three RBIs. Baker added two hits and two RBIs, while White, Ring, Burgess, Jake Bakamus and Alavarez each collected RBIs.

Arkansas State will host Louisiana-Monroe in the final game of the series Sunday afternoon at 1 p.m. at Tomlinson Stadium.