Lyon Baseball: Floyd, Tognarine earn First Team, Kohlstedt tabbed second team

Lyon Baseball: Floyd, Tognarine earn First Team, Kohlstedt tabbed second team

ST. LOUIS, Mo. – Three members of the Lyon baseball team were named All-Conference last week by the conference office. Keegan Floyd and Tyler Tognarine led the way for the Scots garnering first team honors, while Kris Kohlstedt was named to the second team.

Floyd finished fourth on Lyon with a .301 batting average and also totaled 29 RBI's in 42 games played. He was also a staple behind the plate for the Scots, throwing out 26 base runners and recording 51 assists.

Tognarine followed up his spectacular freshman year, with yet another successful season on the mound. Overall, Tognarine finished 11-3 with a 3.07 earned run average and team high 62 strikeouts. He also threw nine complete games and three shutouts, while posting an opponent batting average of .218 in 99.2 innings pitched.

Kohlstedt finished the season as the team's batting average leader, posting a .350 average, in 46 games played. He also tallied 37 runs scored, 10 doubles, a team leading six triples, four home runs and 31 RBI's.

The Scots also had three players earn gold gloves in the conference. Tognarine, Easton Moore and Logan Reddick all earned the award for their excellent play in the field. Moore was outstanding at the shortstop position all year for the Scots. He played in all 53 games and recorded a team high 186 assists with a .964 fielding percentage. Reddick, who started the season at second base, moved over to third base towards the end of the season and had 92 assists and a .915 fielding percentage.

Central Baptist's Jalin Lawson was named the AMC Player of the Year, while Missouri Baptist head coach Eddie Uschold earned Coach of the Year. The Mustangs' Austin Kuchinksi was named AMC Freshman Player of the Year, while CBC's Dylan Crossley earned Freshman Pitcher of the Year honors. Lawson also earned Newcomer Player of the Year honors, while Missouri Baptist's Jared Crescentini was tabbed Newcomer Pitcher of the Year.

Lyon also had 13 players earn Academic All-Conference in Devon Austin, Jordan Braswell, Alec Davis, Jacob Huffman, Billy Kittrell, Kohlstedt, Brody McCrary, Alex Miles, Orin Orlopp, Jordan Patton, Jesse Sampley, Tognarine and Kyle West.

Missouri Baptist led the AMC in total number of athletes honored in the on-field post season awards with eight. Freed-Hardeman was second with seven, while Central Baptist had six total athletes. William Woods, Lyon and Williams Baptist all finished with three total athletes honored.