A-State Baseball falls in series finale to Texas State

Highlights: A-State vs. Texas State Game Three

Jonesboro, AR (A-State) – The Arkansas State baseball team fell to Texas State 12-3 in the series finale of a Sun Belt Conference series at Tomlinson Stadium Sunday afternoon.

A-State (24-26, 11-16 SBC) led 3-2 after the fifth inning, but Texas State responded with four runs in the sixth and then added to its lead with two runs in the seventh and four more in the ninth to avoid being swept by the Red Wolves.

Jake Bakamus and Ty White helped put the Red Wolves in front with timely hitting in the second and fifth innings. Bakamus belted his second home run in as many days with a mammoth shot of the scoreboard in the second inning to cut the deficit in half.

White put A-State in front in the fifth when he delivered a 2-out, 2-run single down the right field line to score Austin Baker and Jeremy Brown.

Bakamus finished the day 1-for-2 with an RBI, while White was 1-for-2 with two RBIs. Baker also added a hit on the day.

Adam Grantham entered the game in the second inning in relief of Zachary Patterson and tossed four solid innings. He struck out three, but gave up a lead off double in the sixth inning and things began to unravel after that.

Coulton Lee entered the game and walked the first batter he faced and then was replaced by Tanner Kirby who gave up two runs that put Texas State back in front. Bryan Ayers then replaced Kirby and gave up two more runs to give the Bobcats an 8-3 cushion.

Texas State (27-25, 14-13) score two more runs in the seventh inning off Ayers and then scored four runs in the ninth inning to put the game out of reach.

Before the game the Red Wolves honored seven student-athletes as part of their senior day festivities. Austin Baker, Matt Burgess, Cody Jackson, Adam Grantham, Ty White, Tanner Ring and Director of Operation Myles Clover were all presented with plaques for the years of service to the A-State baseball program.

A-State will play its final home game of the 2016 season against Ole Miss Tuesday night at Tomlinson Stadium. First pitch is set for 6:30 p.m.