Thorpe Award Tabs Brown to Watch List

Thorpe Award Tabs Brown to Watch List

JONESBORO, Ark. (7/11/16) – Arkansas State senior safety Cody Brown has been named to the Jim Thorpe Award Watch List, presented annually to the nation's top defensive back in the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS).

Brown had a stellar 2015 sophomore season that included three interceptions, including a 30-yard pickoff that he returned for a touchdown at Centennial Bank Stadium against Louisiana-Lafayette. He also finished third on the team with 65 tackles and led the team with nine pass breakups, a mark that also ranked third in the Sun Belt.

The All-SBC Second-Team selection helped lead the Red Wolves' lead the nation with 26 interceptions and rank second in FBS with 34 turnovers gained during the season. He was named the SBC Defensive Player of the Year on Oct. 26 after collecting pass break up and his third interception of the year against the Ragin' Cajuns.

The Bellville, Texas native is the fourth player in school history to be named to the list. Tyrell Johnson earned the school's first recognition in 2007 and was joined in 2014 by Sterling Young and Rocky Hayes.

The Jim Thorpe Award is one of the most coveted awards in college football. The award was established in 1986 and is named after history's greatest all-around athlete, Jim Thorpe.  Thorpe excelled not only as a running back, passer, and kicker on the offensive side of the ball; but also stood out as a defensive back.  In addition to his legendary performance on the football field, Thorpe played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon.

The Thorpe Award Winner is selected from three finalists and will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 8, 2016 on ESPN. The Jim Thorpe Award Banquet will be held on Tuesday, February 7, 2017 in Oklahoma.