Low-interest loans available after March 8 flooding

Low-interest loans available after March 8 flooding

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - Small businesses in 28 Arkansas counties are eligible to apply for low-interest federal disaster loans to help offset losses due to winds, flood and flooding that began in the area in March 8.

Small, nonfarm businesses of any size could qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans of up to $2 million to help meet financial obligations and operating expense, among others.

The primary Arkansas counties include: Ashley, Chicot, Fulton, Lawrence, Lonoke, White and Woodruff.

Neighboring counties include: Arkansas, Baxter, Bradley, Cleburne, Craighead, Cross, Desha, Drew, Faulkner, Greene, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Jefferson, Monroe, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, Saint Francis, Sharp and Union.

Loan eligibility is based on the financial impact of the disaster only and not on any actual property damage.

Copyright 2016 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.