KAIT, and Little Rock TV Stations win AP Awards - KAIT Jonesboro, AR - Region 8 News, weather, sports

KAIT, and Little Rock TV Stations win AP Awards

(Justin Logan, Symphonie Privett, Allison Munn, Chris Conroy, Laura Gunter - Source: KAIT)) (Justin Logan, Symphonie Privett, Allison Munn, Chris Conroy, Laura Gunter - Source: KAIT))

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - Television stations at Little Rock and Jonesboro, and a Little Rock radio station have won key honors from the Arkansas Associated Press Broadcasters Association.
KATV in Little Rock won the sweepstakes award among television stations and also the "best television newscast" prize in the APBA's annual contest. KUAR in Little Rock swept all five categories in the radio division, including "best radio newscast."
KAIT in Jonesboro was given the Mark Twain Award, presented by the AP's Arkansas staff to a member of the news cooperative in recognition of outstanding contributions to the news report. AP is the world's oldest and largest news-gathering organization.
The awards were presented Friday in Little Rock. AP members in Oklahoma judged the competition, which included entries from the 2015 calendar year.   
Continuing Coverage_1, Staff, KHBS-KHOG, Holly Trial. 2, Marine Glisovic, Staff, KATV, Following the Paper Trail: Stolen Words. 3, Staff , KHBS-KHOG, Flooding in River Valley .
Documentary_1, Liz Skelton, Kelly Johnson, Ernie Hall, KHBS-KHOG, Jersey Bridgeman: The Murder Next Door. 2, Staff, KTHV, That Night in April. 3, Staff, KHBS- KHOG, Chronicle: Making of a Museum.
Elections/Politics_1, Rusty Mizell, Staff, KATV, TOWN HALL: Your Voice, Your Future: Medical Marijuana in Arkansas.
Enterprise or Investigative_1, Larry Potter, Jason Pederson, Marcus McDonald, KATV, Black, White and Green: The Politics of Race & Burial Costs in Rural Arkansas. 2, Allison Munn, Laura  Gunter, KAIT, Educate Before You Medicate. 3, Richard Newman, Elicia Dover, Chato Wilson, KATV, VA Solar Panels.
Feature_1, Symphonie Privett, Laura  Gunter, KAIT, Heart 2 Heart. 2, Symphonie Privett, Laura  Gunter, KAIT, We Meet Again. 3, Laura Monteverdi, KTHV, Christmas Eve Clean Up.
Newscast_1, Patrick  Meredith, Staff, KATV, KATV News at 6 5/11/15. 2, Staff, KTHV, May 11th 6 p.m. 3, Patrick Meredith, Staff, KATV, KATV News at 10 5/11/15.
Non-Spot News_1, Allison Munn, KAIT, Soldier Surprises Daughter at Softball Game. 2, Darby Bybee, Ernie Hall, KHBS-KHOG, Rebuilding after the Tornado. 3, Alexis Rogers, Richard Newman, Marcus McDonald, KATV, Grade Pact.
Non-Spot Photography_1, Laura Gunter, KAIT, Do you know your credit history?
Sports Coverage_1, Hayden Balgavy, KTHV, Brenten Cox. 2, Kyle Deckelbaum, KATV, Stuttgart's Strength. 3, Kyle Deckelbaum, Tony Ranchino, KATV, Miracle.
Sportscast_1, Steve Sullivan, KATV, Friday Night Touchdowns. 2, Steve Sullivan, KATV, Steve Sullivan 8/21/15.
Spot News_1, Staff, KATV, Fatal Charter Bus Accident. 2, Elicia Dover, Richard Newman, KATV, Beverly Carter Verdict Live Reaction.
Weather Segment_1, Todd Yakoubian, KATV, Todd Yakoubian 4/19/15. 2, Justin Logan, KAIT, Meteorologist Justin Logan 11-17-15 Forecast. 3, Ned Perme, KATV, Ned Perme 4/20/15.
Website_1, Allison Wise, KHBS-KHOG, KHBS/KHOG Website: 4029tv.com. 2, Staff, KTHV, THV11.com. 3, Sarah Chaffin, C.J. Gardner, Staff, KATV, KATV.com.
Sweepstakes_KATV-Little Rock.
Mark Twain Award, to recognize contributions to the Associated Press news report - KAIT-Jonesboro.

Copyright 2016 KAIT. All rights reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Region 8 News App - Install or update on your: iPhone | Android

Powered by Frankly