Arkansas public schools named Schools of Innovation

Arkansas public schools named Schools of Innovation

LITTLE ROCK, AR (KAIT) - A few Region 8 schools are among those announced as Schools of Innovation.

On Thursday, the Arkansas Department of Education released the list of 12 schools added for 2016-2017.

Newport High School, Pangburn High School, White County Central High School and Wynne Intermediate School are among those selected.

The ADE states Schools of Innovation "receive waivers from traditional rules and regulations."

This means the schools are allowed use methods like modifying class time schedules and blending courses to improve educational practices.

The 12 schools join 15 others across the state selected from 2014-2016.

Each school receives the designation for four years and can receive another four years after a review.

To find out more about Schools of Innovation, click here.

Copyright 2016 KAIT. All rights reserved.

Watch Region 8 News On Demand: On your Desktop | On your Mobile device

Region 8 News App - Install or update on your: iPhone | Android