Jordan Richard Wins POY; Three A-State Bowlers Earn All-American Honors

Jordan Richard Wins POY; Three A-State Bowlers Earn All-American Honors

BATON ROUGE, La. (4/12/17) – Junior Jordan Richard was named the National Tenpin Coaches Association Division I Player of the Year and was a First-Team All-American selection, while teammates Haley Richard and Jadee Scott-Jones picked up Second and Third Team NTCA All-American accolades as announced at the 2017 NCAA Women's Bowling Championship Banquet Wednesday night at the Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center in Baton Rouge, La.

The Division I Player of the Year award for Jordan Richard is the first of her career and second POY honor in her career after winning the Division II/III Player of the Year award in 2015 at Central Missouri. She's the first player in women's bowling history to win the Player of the Year award at two different levels.

A native of Tecumseh, Mich., Jordan Richard set the school record for all-tournament selections with seven and tied a school record with four MVP awards. The All-American award is her second straight first-team selection and third All-American award overall.  She averaged 21.641 per frame in all formats this season to lead the nation.

"I could go on and on about how good a player Jordan is," A-State head women's bowling coach Justin Kostick said. "However, at the end of the day, one phrase is all that's needed and it's that she is the best player in the nation. This award just goes to show the nation what I already knew. I'm very proud of her."

Haley Richard, a native of Tecumseh, Mich., and Jordan's sister was named to three different all-tournament squads this season and this is her third All-American honor after earning Honorable Mention recognition in each of the last two seasons. She ranked fifth in the Southland Bowling League with a 20.520 per frame average in all formats during the season.

"I'm very proud of Haley because she's had an excellent season," added Kostick. "She's worked really hard all year and I know it was tough for her just getting Honorable Mention in the past, but she got over the hump and put it all together this year. She's a big reason why we are where we are."

Scott-Jones, a native of East Providence, R.I., registered her second All-American accolade after earning Honorable Mention status as a freshman. She was named to the All-Tournament team at the Big Red Invite and was eighth in the Southland Bowling League with a 20.229 per frame average in all formats.

"Jadee put together an excellent year and was more consistent this year than she was last year," Kostick continued. "She put in the work and it's nice to see her rewarded with this honor. She's a huge part of the success we've had this season and it is a well-deserved award. I'm very happy for her."

The Red Wolves began their day with a practice session at the Raising Cane's River Center along with three other teams in the first block at 9 a.m. The team practiced for two hours and also checked in equipment during the time allotted.

The banquet began around 7 p.m. and featured a catered meal. Dan Borne, LSU's public address announcer for football and men's basketball, gave a few remarks and emceed the event. The awards were presented after the meal.

Competition begins Thursday with qualifying rounds in which each team bowls one five-person regular team game against each of the other seven participating teams. Teams will be seeded for bracket play based on their win-loss record during the qualifying rounds. At the conclusion of the qualifying rounds, teams will then compete in best-of-seven Baker matches in the double elimination tournament. In the Baker format, each of the five team members, in order, bowls a complete frame until a complete (10-frame) game is bowled.  A Baker match tied at 3½ a piece after seven games will be decided by a tiebreaker using the Modified Baker format.

Tulane University and the United States Bowling Congress will co-host the championship, which will be held April 13-15 at Raising Cane's River Center in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.  Tickets can be purchased on prior to the championship. The championship final will air on ESPNU Saturday, April 15 at 6:30 p.m. ET.

All of the action prior to the championship final is being streamed online at