Deadline to submit public assistance requests approaching

Deadline to submit public assistance requests approaching

(KAIT) - Arkansas cities affected by severe weather this spring must submit requests for public assistance by Saturday, July 15.

Cities can request 75 percent reimbursements from FEMA for disaster-related repairs to infrastructure, debris removal and emergency protective measures caused by the disaster, such as police overtime.

Deferred maintenance repairs will not be reimbursed.

Cities impacted by the severe weather in the spring must have had damage between April 26 and May 19.

The 28 counties designated for public assistance are:

  • Baxter
  • Benton
  • Boone
  • Carroll
  • Clay
  • Cleburne
  • Conway
  • Craighead
  • Cross
  • Faulkner
  • Independence
  • Izard
  • Jackson
  • Lawrence
  • Madison
  • Marion
  • Mississippi
  • Montgomery
  • Newton
  • Ouachita
  • Perry
  • Poinsett
  • Prairie
  • Randolph
  • Saline
  • Washington
  • White
  • Woodruff

Requests for public assistance must be turned in to the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management and can be faxed to 501-683-7890.

Copyright 2017 KAIT. All rights reserved.

Watch Region 8 News On Demand: On your Desktop | On your Mobile device

Region 8 News App - Install or update on your: iPhone | Android