A-State Women’s Basketball Announces 2018-19 SBC Schedule

A-State Women’s Basketball Announces 2018-19 SBC Schedule
(Source: KAIT)

JONESBORO, Ark. (6/12/18) – The Sun Belt Conference released its 2018-19 women's basketball conference schedule Tuesday afternoon with the Red Wolves slated to play 18 league games, including nine at First National Bank Arena.

The conference will utilize an 18-game conference schedule for each men's and women's basketball program for a third-straight year in 2018-19. The conference schedules will feature a mirror schedule format for the first time as men's and women's teams will play at different venues, and not play doubleheaders, over the course of a Thursday-Saturday conference game week. A-State will first go to Little Rock on Feb. 2, while the Trojans make the return trip to Jonesboro on Feb. 23. Times for the games have not been announced.

Also new to the league this season is a new Sun Belt Conference Tournament format, which will include a bye to the semifinal round for both the No. 1 and No. 2 seeds. The No. 3 and No. 4 seeds will get a bye into the quarter final round, while seeds No. 5 and No. 6 will get a bye into the second round. Seed No. 7, 8, 9 and 10 will begin tournament play on Monday March 11 with the No. 7 and No. 8 seeds hosting the games. The winners of those games will then advance to Lakefront Arena in New Orleans to begin second round action on Wednesday March 13. In addition, only 10 of the league's 12 teams will make the tournament

Conference play is set to being on Thursday, Jan. 3 with A-State hosting Louisiana, followed by a matchup at FNB Arena against Louisiana-Monroe on Saturday, Jan. 5. This marks the second straight season that the Red Wolves have opened SBC play in Jonesboro and also the second consecutive season that the Ragin' Cajuns and Warhawks have been the first two opponents on the league schedule.

The remaining home slate of games for the Red Wolves include matchups with UT Arlington (Jan. 17), Texas State (Jan. 19), South Alabama (Feb. 7), Troy (Feb. 9), Little Rock (Feb. 23), Georgia State (Feb. 28) and Georgia Southern (March 2).

The Red Wolves will open up league play on the road on Jan. 10 with a trip to South Alabama, followed by a game against Troy on Jan. 12. The other road games on the schedule include: Appalachian State (Jan. 24), Coastal Carolina (Jan. 26), Little Rock (Feb. 2), Texas State (Feb. 14), UT Arlington (Feb. 16), Louisiana-Monroe (March 7) and Louisiana (March 9).

A-State will play Georgia State and Georgia Southern just once, in Jonesboro, while the squad will also Coastal Carolina and Appalachian State just once as well, but on the road.

The SBC Tournament is set to begin Monday March, 11 at campus sites, followed by the start of play in New Orleans with the second round on March 13. The championship game is set for Saturday, March 16.