Two Craighead Countians to Serve on Rural Heritage Advisory Council

NOVEMBER 23, 2005 - Posted at 1:20 p.m. CST

JONESBORO, AR - Two Craighead County residents will serve on the Arkansas Advisory Council of the Rural Heritage Developlment Initiative, a new National Trust for Historic Preservation program that will work to implement preservation-based economic development strategies.

Dr. Ruth Hawkins of Jonesboro, executive director of Arkansas Delta Byways, and Paula Miles of Jonesboro, also of Arkansas Delta Byways, will serve on the 30-member board.  Arkansas Delta Byways promotes tourism and encourages visitors to travel in this region of Arkansas in order to reap the economic benefits of the tourism industry.

The RDHI's Arkansas Advisory Council will help guide the initiative by evaluating its ongoing progress and my making a long-term commitment to sustaining rural heritage development strategies in the region after the initiative has ended.

The RHDI will address the many issues facing rural regions today, from decreasing population to the loss of their traditional agricultural base, and bring together various multi-disciplinary services of the National Trust for intensive work with partners in the pilot regions over a three-year period.