24 Arkansas Counties Now Under Burn Ban

DECEMBER 29, 2005 - Posted at 7:52 a.m. CST

LITTLE ROCK, AR - Given the warmer, dry weather across the state, 24 Arkansas counties have been placed under burn bans.

The uncharacteristic weather pattern for late December in Arkansas has elevated the fire danger in much of the state.  Fatal fires have burned in bordering Texas and Oklahoma.

Counties that have enacted burn bans are: Benton, Boone, Carroll, Columbia, Conway, Crawford, Hempstead, Johnson, Logan, Madison, Montgomery, Nevada, Newton, Ouachita, Perry, Pike, Polk, Pope, Pulaski, Searcy, Sebastian, Washington, Woodruff and Yell.

Craighead County is not under a burn ban, but Wednesday afternoon Jonesboro firefighters simultaneously fought two grass fires on opposite sides of the city, including one near Parker Road.

(The Associated Press contributed to this report.)