Burn Ban Ordered for Craighead County

JANUARY 3, 2006 - Posted at 1:46 p.m. CST

JONESBORO, AR - Citing "an effort to protect life and property," Craighead County Judge Dale Haas this morning issued another burn ban for Craighead County, adding it to a long list of 54 Arkansas counties that have previously issued current burn bans.

"The lack of rain, high temperatures, low humidity and high winds have increased the probability of grass and wildland fires," according to the statement issued by Haas, which further stated, "Individuals in the county are to refrain from all outdoor burning, including trash and yard waste."

Besides Craighead, six other Region 8 counties now have burn bans in effect, including Baxter, Independence, Stone, Jackson, White and Woodruff.