Nine Region 8 Counties Still Under Burn Ban

JANUARY 18, 2006 - Posted at 3:46 p.m. CST

LITTLE ROCK, AR - Thirty-nine Arkansas counties remain under bans for outdoor burning, including nine in Region 8.  Recent rains have provided some relief from dry conditions but officials say a fire danger remains.  Most of western Arkansas remains at risk and is under the ban.

According to the Arkansas Forestry Commission, the following counties in Region 8 are also under bans:

Baxter, Craighead, Cross, Greene, Mississippi, Poinsett, St. Francis, Sharp and Stone.

(The Associated Press contributed to this report.)