Craighead County Teachers Form New Education Organization

MARCH 8, 2006 - Posted at 3:24 p.m. CST

JONESBORO, AR - The Arkansas Education Association and the National Education Association, in partnership with teacher members from Craighead County school districts, today announced the formation of a new group of professional educators, to be known as the Craighead County Education Association.

Local, state and national education standards, laws, policies, and practices brought the initial group of teachers together to form the new organization "to address common issues and concerns across school district boundary lines in Craighead County."  One of the group's major goals is to promote professionalism, high standards and advocacy for teachers, public school students, and public education, according to spokesperson Karen Carter.  Membership in the Arkansas Education Association and teaching in the county automatically qualifies one for membership in the local organization.

Original members forming the group include educators from the following schools: Brookland, Jonesboro, Nettleton, Riverside, Valley View and Westside.