Bush Declares Major Disaster in Hard-Hit Missouri Counties - KAIT Jonesboro, AR - Region 8 News, weather, sports


Bush Declares Major Disaster in Hard-Hit Missouri Counties

MARCH 17, 2006 - Posted at 8:00 a.m. CST


WASHINGTON (AP) - President Bush has cleared the way for federal disaster relief in 16 Missouri counties hit by tornaodes and deadly storms over the weekend.

Yesterday's disaster declaration makes federal funds available for cleanup and repairs from the violent weather that killed nine people across the state.  Waves of storms that began late Saturday destroyed hundreds of homes and businesses.

The president's action clears the way for federal aid to rebuild and replace damaged property in nine scattered counties.  Those counties are Christian, Hickory, Johnson, Monroe, Perry, Pettis, Randolph, St. Genevieve and Saline.

Money for cleaning up debris and other emergency measures is also available to government and nonprofit agencies in seven other counties.  Those counties are Bates, Christian, Howard, Jefferson, Monroe, Montgomery and Washington.

(Copyright 2006 by The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.)

Powered by Frankly