Finally: Bush Administration Approves Assistance for Six Region 8 Counties

APRIL 13, 2006 - Posted at 7:37 a.m. CST

LITTLE ROCK, AR - A spokeswoman for Governor Huckabee says President Bush has approved Arkansas's request for federal assistance for seven counties affected by tornadoes and thunderstorms earlier this month, including six counties in Region 8.  Huckabee spokeswoman Alice Stewart said yesterday that Bush approved assistance for Cross, Fulton, Greene, Lawrence, Randolph and White counties, as well as Conway County.

Part of Huckabee's request included the use of mobile homes stationed in Hope originally intended for victims of Hurricane Katrina as temporary classrooms and housing for residents affected by the storms.

The April 2 storms damaged more than a thousand structures.  A federal disaster declaration makes the counties eligible for federal asssistance.

(The Associated Press contributed to this report.)