Department of Workforce Services Announces Disaster Unemployment Assistance for Region 8

APRIL 14, 2006 - Posted at 2:36 p.m. CST

LITTLE ROCK, AR - Individuals who have become unemployed as a result of the severe storms and tornadoes occuring in six Region 8 counties in early April may be eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

President Bush this week declared for Cross, Fulton, Greene, Lawrence, Randolph and White counties.  Among the different types of assistance available to individuals and households by the disaster declaration is unemployment assistance.  Individuals who have temporarily lost jobs because of the disaster and do not qualify for regular unemployment benefits may be eligible for DUA, which provides unemployment benefits for up to 28 weeks.

DUA claims may be filed at the DWS offices:

-Cross County (Forrest City local office, 2615 S. Washington St., phone # 870-633-2900 and West Memphis local office, 202 Shoppingway, Ste. A, phone # 870-400-2269).

-Fulton County (Batesville local office, 396 Barnett Drive, phone # 870-793-4156 and Mountain Home local office, 1058 Highland Circle, #20, phone # 870-425-2386).

-Greene County (Paragould local office, 400 E. Kingshighway, phone # 870-236-8512, and Jonesboro local office, 2311 E. Nettleton Ave., phone # 870-935-5594).

-Lawrence County (Walnut Ridge local office, 116 W. Elm St., phone # 870-886-3556, and Newport local office, 401 Walnut St., phone # 870-523-3641, and Paragould local office).

-Randolph County (Walnut Ridge local office and Paragould local office).

-White County (Searcy local office, 501 W. Arch St., phone # 501-268-8601, and Batesville and Newport local offices).

Eligible persons have 30 days, beginning today, and ending May 16, to file for DUA.