Arkansans in 7 Counties to Benefit From Emergency Assistance

April 22, 2006 - Posted at 12:58 p.m. CST

UNDATED (AP)_More than 500-thousand dollars in assistance checks

has been approved for seven Arkansas counties hit by tornadoes and

storms earlier this month. The funds are distributed in the form of

grants and the emergency assistance checks go for housing and other

needs. Residents in these seven counties has been approved for the

aide: Conway, Cross, Fulton, Greene, Lawrence, Randolph and White

counties. Long-term assistance also is available in the form of

low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business

Administration. Federal Coordinating Officer Carlos Mitchell says

the government will continue to work with state, local, and

volunteer agencies to help Arkansas residents and businesses

recover from the storms.

(Copyright 2006 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)