Early Voting Delayed in Eight Region 8 Counties

JUNE 2, 2006 - Posted at 7:33 a.m. CST

LITTLE ROCK, AR - Early voting in the primary run-offs, which was supposed to have started on Tuesday, hasn't yet begun in twelve Arkansas counties, including eight in Region 8.  State election officials say those 12 counties have been unable to open sites for early voting for the June 13 run-off because of delays with ballots and electronic voting software.

The secretary of state's office says the counties where early voting hadn't yet begun as of yesterday included Baxter, Crittenden, Cross, Jackson, Mississippi, Randolph, St. Francis and Woodruff in Region 8, as well as Bradley, Carroll, Lee, and Phillips counties.

A lack of paper ballots and software for touch-screen voting machines has led many counties around the state, including Craighead, to print up their own ballots for the two-week voting period.  But those twelve counties have neither paper ballots nor voting machines that are ready to use.

(The Associated Press contributed to this report.)