Burn Bans in Effect in Seven Region 8 Counties

JULY 24, 2006 - Posted at 10:56 a.m. CDT

NEWPORT, AR - More than half of the counties in Arkansas currently have burn bans in effect because of the dry weather.  Although the state saw some rain late last week, it wasn't enough of a soaking to lift the bans.  The Arkansas Forestry Commission says 40 of the state's 75 counties have burn bans, including seven in Region 8.  They include Cleburne, Independence, Izard, Jackson, St. Francis, White and Woodruff counties.

(The Associated Press contributed to this report.)