Search Committee Finally Names List of Finalists for ASU Chancellor Position

SEPTEMBER 1, 2006 - Posted at 11:36 a.m. CDT

JONESBORO, AR - Members of the Chancellor Search Committee at Arkansas State University voted yesterday to name six applicants as finalists for the new position of chancellor on the Jonesboro campus.

During September, each of the six finalists will visit the campus for interviews and meetings with various campus groups.  An open forum for members of the community also will be part of each candidate's visit to Jonesboro.

Following the visits and further evaluation, president Dr. Les Wyatt wil recommend one of the individuals to the ASU Board of Trustees for appointment as chancellor.

The finalists are:

- Dr. John Dunn, provost and vice chancellor at Southern Illinois University.

-Dr. John Folkins, provost and vice president for academic affairs at Bowling Green State University in Ohio.

-Dr. Kaylene Gebert, executive vice president and provost at Middle Tennessee State University.

-Dr. Thomas Harden, president of Clayton State University in Georgia.

-Dr. Norval Pohl, immediate past president of the University of North Texas.

-Dr. Robert Leslie Potts, immediate past chancellor of the North Dakota University system.