ASU Names Distinguished Alumni for 2006

SEPTEMBER 28, 2006 - Posted at 11:20 a.m. CDT

JONESBORO, AR - The Arkansas State University Alumni Association will honor two individuals in its 23rd year of recognizing distinguished alumni.  This year's honorees are Sherland Hamilton of Rector and Marilyn Hummelstein of Jonesboro.

The presentation ceremony will be at halftime of the ASU Homecoming football game against North Texas on October 21.

Hamilton is a graduate of the ASU class of 1961 and is a former owner and operator of Crockett Oil Company.  He currently oversees his family's farm operation.  Hamilton has been active in many civic organizations.  He has served as president of the Rector Chamber of Commerce, president of the Arkansas Oil Marketers Association, president of the Arkansas LP Gas Association.  He was appointed by then-Governor Jim Guy Tucker to the state Pollution Control & Ecology Board, of which he served one term as chairman.

Hummelstein, of Jonesboro, is a 1974 graduate, and marked the third generation of her family to become an ASU alum.  She has given back to her alma mater through service to the ASU Foundation, of which she currently serves as board chair.  Hummelstein is also involved in many community service projects in the Jonesboro and northeast Arkansas communities, as well as many civic organizations.  She is president of the St. Bernard's Development Foundation, and resides in Jonesboro with her husband, Sam.