Five Southern/Southeast Missouri Counties to Benefit from Disaster Declaration

OCTOBER 12, 2006 - Posted at 11:14 a.m. CDT

JEFFERSON CITY, MO - The federal government declares 85 Missouri counties, including one in Region 8, as primary disaster areas because of the prolonged drought.

The USDA's disaster declaration makes farmers eligible for low-interest emergency loans and cost sharing on water-related activities.  A primary county is one that has experienced at least a 30 percent crop loss.

Twenty other counties, including four in Region 8, were declared contiguous counties because they're located next to the primary counties.

The primary county included in Region 8 is Shannon County, while the continuous counties include Bollinger, Carter, Oregon and Howell.

(The Associated Press contributed to this report.)