Seventh Annual Delta Awards for Tourism Achievement Set

OCTOBER 13, 2006 - Posted at 3:53 p.m. CDT

JONESBORO, AR - The seventh annual Delta Awards recognizing tourism achievements in eastern Arkansas will be presented during festivities Friday evening, October 20, at the Dumas Community Center.

The event is sponsored by the Arkansas Delta Byways, the nonprofit association recognized by the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism, as the official tourism promotion association for 15 counties in eastern Arkansas.  Those counties include Arkansas, Chicot, Clay, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Desha, Drew, Greene, Lee, Mississippi, Monroe, Phillips, Poinsett and St. Francis.

Arkansas Delta Byways is located on the Arkansas State University campus and receives administrative support through ASU's Delta Heritage Initiatives Office.

The event is open to the public.  Tickets are $25 per person.