Berry Announces Disaster Aid for 12 Additional Region 8 Counties

DECEMBER 4, 2006 - Posted at 3:18 p.m. CST

WASHINGTON - First District Congressman Marion Berry announced today that twelve additional counties are eligible for emergency loan assistance following a series of severe storms, high winds, tornadoes and excessive rainfall that swept through Arkansas and Missouri on September 22.

The USDA has issued a formal disaster declaration, making residents and business owners in Baxter, Crittenden, Cross, Fulton, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Poinsett, Randolph, Sharp and Stone counties eligible for Farm Service Agency low-interest loans.  This is in addition to the assistance announced recently for Clay, Craighead, Greene and Mississippi counties.

Individuals interested in more information should contact the FSA office in their respective county.