Beebe Declares Four Region 8 Counties as Disaster Areas

JANUARY 17, 2007 - Posted at 10:56 a.m. CST

LITTLE ROCK, AR - Governor Mike Beebe today declared four Region 8 counties as disaster areas because of flooding that occured last weekend.

Cross, Greene, Jackson and White counties are now eligible for public asssistance to help restore infrastructure such as roads and bridges that were damaged by the weather.  Preliminary damage assessments will be conducted in each county to determine the type and amount of damage.