Governor Declares Emergency in 17 Region 8 Counties for Crop Damage

LITTLE ROCK, AR - Governor Beebe has declared a state of emergency in seventeen Region 8 counties where crops were damaged by freezing temperatures earlier this month, as well as seventeen other counties.

Beebe says the proclamation will support efforts to apply for assistance from the federal government for farmers who suffered crop damage during the cold snap.

The Region 8 counties included in the declaration are Clay, Cleburne, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Fulton, Greene, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Mississippi, Poinsett, Sharp, St. Francis, Stone and Woodruff.

(The Associated Press contributed to this report.)